External quality assessment (EQA) for laboratories participating in the European Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance Network (EARS-Net)​

The European Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance Network (EARS-Net), formerly known as the European Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance System (EARSS), provides analyses of trends in antimicrobial susceptibility over time and between all EU Member states and two EEA countries (Iceland and Norway). Data are based on routine antimicrobial susceptibility test results collected from a network of clinical laboratories. At present, the pathogens included in the surveillance network are Streptococcus pneumoniae, Staphylococcus aureus, Enterococcus faecalis, Enterococcus faecium, Escherichia coli, Klebsiella pneumoniae, Pseudomonas aeruginosa and Acinetobacter spp.

EARS-Net is administrated and coordinated by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

Since 2000, EARSS/EARS-Net has organised External Quality Assessment (EQA) exercises in antimicrobial susceptibility testing across clinical EARS-Net participating microbiology laboratories in EU/EEA countries.​

The EQA exercises provide important information on performance and comparability of the reported test results between participating laboratories and countries.

The objectives of the EARS-Net EQA exercises are:

  • ​To assess the accuracy of quantitative antimicrobial susceptibility test results reported by participating individual laboratories;
  • ·To evaluate the overall comparability of routinely collected test results between laboratories and EU/EEA countries.

Participation in EQA exercises is useful for production of reliable laboratory results of consistently good quality. In the EARS-Net EQA exercises, laboratories are requested to test the bacterial strains by the methods routinely used and the results should then be submitted through a web tool (password-protected) which upon deadline will generate an evaluation report. Further, all participating laboratories will receive an individual report through the national EQA coordinator together with a national summary report.

​An EU/EEA summary report (anonymised) will be published on the ECDC website.

Since 2021, the EARS-Net EQA exercises have been organised by ECDC in collaboration with DTU Food.

For further information, please contact Birgitte Helwigh earsnet-eqa@food.dtu.dk

Guideline to reset the password for the EARS-Net EQA webtool

​Documents for 2022 EARS-Net EQA

For your information

ECDC has decided to include species relevant for the EARS-Net surveillance for species identification. Thus, the six strains may be one of the eight species included in the EARS-Net surveillance or a species not part of the EARS-Net surveillance. In the protocol it is described how to handle the different strains.

​Documents for 2021 EARS-Net EQA

EQA protocol

(PDF document)

EQA test forms

(PDF document)


​Information presented on this website is considered public information (unless otherwise noted) and may be distributed or copied. Use of appropriate byline/photo/image credit is requested. While The National Food Institute makes every effort to provide accurate and complete information, various data such as names, telephone numbers, etc. may change prior to updating. The National Food Institute welcomes suggestions on how to improve our home page and correct errors. The National Food Institute provides no warranty, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy, reliability or completeness of furnished data.

Some of the documents on this server may contain live references (or pointers) to information created and maintained by other organizations. Please note that The National Food Institute does not control and cannot guarantee the relevance, timeliness, or accuracy of these outside materials.


Technical University of Denmark, National Food Institute

CVR: 30060946



DK-2800 Lyngby

Kemitorvet Building 204​

Contact us

Tlf.: +45 3588 6601

E-mail: suska@food.dtu.dk